Month: January 2011

  • Nerd Freak Out

    So Wednesday night, at the encouragement of my voice instructor, I auditioned for the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra Chorus. 

    I was accepted!!!!

    I will for sure be performing with them in April and May, for the double-feature of Barber’s “Prayers of Kierkegaard” and Mahler’s 2nd Symphony, and then “Carmina Burana” in May.

    In early April, though, they will be screening “The Fellowship of the Ring” while the orchestra and chorus performs the music. Can you IMAGINE?!?! I haven’t been asked to sing for that yet, but today I got the email that went out to the whole chorus which contains the translation and pronunciation guides for all the Black Speech, Sindarin, Quenya, and Dwarvish texts…I’m in nerd heaven right now!!!!!

  • A Beautiful Testimony

    Danielle Rose is a young Catholic singer/songwriter. A few years ago she entered a convent to discern if it was the life Christ was calling her to. Though her prayer and His call led her away from the convent in the end, the following video of her testimony regarding the Eucharist (recorded at her final concert before entrance) is no less beautiful and powerful. You can really see the joy of a bride-to-be, someone absolutely, totally and helplessly in love with Jesus Christ.

    What do you think? What are your thoughts on the Eucharist? How has her testimony touched you?